Tag Archive | "Mexicali"

2017 Mexican Pacific League Championship Set – Mexicali vs. Los Mochis

The Liga Mexicana del Pacifico is all set for the championship round starting tomorrow (1/21). Mexicali will face off with Los Mochis.

Mexicali defeated Hermosillo in their semifinal round. It took the Aguilas de Mexicali seven games to finish off Hermosillo in a back-and-forth semifinal series. The win set up Mexicali for a chance to win the LMP and advance to the Caribbean Series in February.

The Caneros de los Mochis defeated Culiacan in seven games to advance in another back-and-forth series.

Mexicali has not won the LMP since 1999, which was their third championship. The Aguilas have one Caribbean Series title to their credit back in 1986. They hope to make another appearance and make a run at a second Series win.

Los Mochis on the other hand last won the LMP in 2002-2003. They have three LMP titles in franchise history, but have never won the Caribbean Series.

Both teams will try to continue the recent strong showings from the LMP champions at the Caribbean Series having won four of the past six titles, including last year when Mazatlan took home their second title.

The seven game LMP Championship Series will run from Saturday January 21 to Sunday January 29, with the final three games played if needed.

The 2017 Caribbean Series opens on Wednesday February 1. The representative from Mexico will take on Puerto Rico in their first game that night.

Posted in Latin America, TournamentsComments (0)


Check Out Our Etsy Shop

The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

Have a Baseball Story?

Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

  • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
  • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
  • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
  • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
  • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
  • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
  • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
  • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
  • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
  • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
  • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
  • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 88

Loading ... Loading ...