Tag Archive | "Liga Mexicana del Pacifico"

Aguilas de Mexicali Wins LMP Championship

The Aguilas de Mexicali took home the Liga Mexicana del Pacifico (LMP) Championship Saturday night after a 13-1 drubbing of the Caneros de los Mochis. The win gave Mexicali the title and a spot in the Caribbean Series.

Mexicali pounded out 16 hits in the game. Five players had 2 or more hits including Yordanys Linares (3-for-3 with a home run), Yuniesky Betancourt (2-for-4, 6 RBI, and a grand slam), and Chris Roberson (3-for-5). The offensive attack was relentless as Mexicali scored in 6 straight innings.

While Mexicali was taking care of business at the plate, Hector Velazquez (W, 3-1) was taking care of things on the mound. Velazquez tossed 6.0 innings giving up just a single run. He struck out 4, walked 2, and scattered 4 hits. The Aguilas bullpen came in and shut down Los Mochis the rest of the way as Jose Meraz, Fautino De Los Santos, and Jake Sanchez each tossed a scoreless inning in relief.

Mexicali moves on to the 2017 Caribbean Series now to face Puerto Rico in their first game on Wednesday February 1.

Posted in Latin America, TournamentsComments (0)

Mexicali Ties LMP Championship Series

The Aguilas de Mexicali evened up the Liga Mexicana del Pacifico (LMP) Championship on Sunday with a 7-2 win over the Caneros de los Mochis. The win evened the series at one game apiece.

Hector Velazquez (W, 2-1) had a strong outing for Mexicali tossing 7.1 shutout innings. He gave up just 4hits, did not walk anyone, and struck out 10 en route to the win. Javier Solano (S, 1) picked up the save tossing the final 2 outs of the game.

On the offensive side of the ball, Mexicalli was led by Dodgers farmhand C.J. Retherford (2-for-4) who had the big blow with his 5th home run in the 3rd inning, a 2-run shot. Longtime Sultanes de Monterrey DH/OF Luis Juarez had a nice night as well going 2-for-4 with a pair of doubles.

The only runs of the night for Los Mochis came in the bottom of the 8th inning on a Isaac Rodriguez Salazar 2-run homer.

Going tonight in Game 3 of the series will be Roy Merritt for Los Mochis up against former Major League pitcher Kameron Loe for Mexicali. Loe last pitched in the big leagues in 2013 with Atlanta.

LMP Championship:
Mexicali 1, Los Mochis 3
Mexicali 7, Los Mochis 2
Game 3: 1/24
Game 4: 1/25
Game 5: 1/26
Game 6: 1/28
Game 7: 1/29

Posted in Latin America, TournamentsComments (0)

Caneros de los Mochis Takes Game 1 of LMP Finals 3-1

Los Mochis kicked off the Liga Mexicana del Pacifico (LMP) championship with a bang taking Game 1 over Mexicali 3-1 on Saturday night.

J.C. Linares (2-for-3) got the game going with a 2-run home run in the bottom of the 1st inning. That would be all Los Mochis would need. Julian Arballo (W, 1-1) picked up the win pitching 6 shutout innings. Arballo gave up 6 hits while striking out 6 to pick up the win. Sergio Romo (S, 6) came in to pitch the 9th inning to pick up the save.

Mexicali never got much going against the Los Mochis pitching staff, even though they outhit Los Mochis 9-4. Ramon Rios (2-for-3) gave Mexicali its only run with a solo shot in the 8th inning off of Oliver Perez (H, 1).

Game 2 will be tonight at Los Mochis. The probable pitching match up will be Hector Velazquez (Mexicali) who is 9-3 on the year with a 2.32 ERA. He will be going up against Manny Barreda (Los Mochis) who went 4-3 with a ERA of 2.20. Game time is 5 PM MST (7 PM ET).

See full box score

Posted in Latin America, TournamentsComments (0)

2017 Mexican Pacific League Championship Set – Mexicali vs. Los Mochis

The Liga Mexicana del Pacifico is all set for the championship round starting tomorrow (1/21). Mexicali will face off with Los Mochis.

Mexicali defeated Hermosillo in their semifinal round. It took the Aguilas de Mexicali seven games to finish off Hermosillo in a back-and-forth semifinal series. The win set up Mexicali for a chance to win the LMP and advance to the Caribbean Series in February.

The Caneros de los Mochis defeated Culiacan in seven games to advance in another back-and-forth series.

Mexicali has not won the LMP since 1999, which was their third championship. The Aguilas have one Caribbean Series title to their credit back in 1986. They hope to make another appearance and make a run at a second Series win.

Los Mochis on the other hand last won the LMP in 2002-2003. They have three LMP titles in franchise history, but have never won the Caribbean Series.

Both teams will try to continue the recent strong showings from the LMP champions at the Caribbean Series having won four of the past six titles, including last year when Mazatlan took home their second title.

The seven game LMP Championship Series will run from Saturday January 21 to Sunday January 29, with the final three games played if needed.

The 2017 Caribbean Series opens on Wednesday February 1. The representative from Mexico will take on Puerto Rico in their first game that night.

Posted in Latin America, TournamentsComments (0)


Check Out Our Etsy Shop

The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

Have a Baseball Story?

Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

  • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
  • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
  • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
  • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
  • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
  • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
  • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
  • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
  • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
  • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
  • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
  • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 88

Loading ... Loading ...