Tag Archive | "Claxton Shield"

Australia: Perth Heat Claim Second Straight Title; Fourth in Five Years

After a thrilling three game series the Perth Heat win its second consecutive ABL Championship. In winning another Claxton Shield, Perth did so in big fashion over the Adelaide Bite.

Adelaide won the first game in the most dramatic fashion. Perth took a 2-0 lead after single runs in the first and fourth, the Bite came back in huge fashion.

Leading off the bottom of the seventh was Stefan Welch. And here is what happened.

With the back-to-back-to-back home runs from Welch, Tom Brice, and Mitch Dening Adelaide took Game 1.

Game 1 Full Box Score

Game 3 was another thriller as Perth won in extra innings for force a final Game 3. Adelaide tied the game up in bottom of the seventh where the score would stay until Perth scored two in the top of the tenth to even the series. Matt Kennelly (1-for-3) and Brian Pointer (1-for-1) hit back-to-back home runs in the third for Perth giving the Heat a 2-1 lead.

Stefan Welch (2-for-4) homered for a second straight day in the first inning giving Adelaide a short lived 1-0 lead. Chris Adamson (1-for-4) homered to lead off the seventh.

With the score tied and one on in the top of the tenth, Rene Tosoni was hit by a pitch putting two runners on for Allan de San Miguel (1-for-5) who doubled in both Tosoni and Luke Hughes.

Game 2 Full Box Score

The Perth Heat jumped out on top of Adelaide in Game 3 by scoring two runs in the first and four more in the second. That was all they would need in a 12-5 win to claim their second straight Claxton Shield.

Tim Kennelly (2-for-6), Tim Smith (2-for-4), and Luke Hughes (3-for-6) all homered for Perth in the win. Both Kennelly and Hughes drove in three runs in the win. Mike McCarthy picked up the win in relief going 3.1 scoreless innings while striking out seven.

Mitch Dening had a huge day at the plate for the Bite. He went 4-for-4 with a pair of solo home runs and scored three runs. Craig Maddox (2-for-4) also homered hitting a three-run home run in the fourth inning. Wilson Lee only lasted 1.2 innings taking the loss for the Bite giving up five runs on four hits.

This was Perth’s fourth title in the five year existence of the newly formed ABL.

Photo Courtesy ABL/Perth Heat

Posted in OceaniaComments (0)


Check Out Our Etsy Shop

The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

Have a Baseball Story?

Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

  • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
  • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
  • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
  • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
  • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
  • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
  • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
  • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
  • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
  • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
  • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
  • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 88

Loading ... Loading ...