Tag Archive | "Aguilas Cibaenas"

Tigres del Licey win 22nd LIDOM Championship

The Liga de Beisbol Profesional de la Republica Domincana or LIDOM went a full 9 games this past week as the Tigres del Licey pulled off a 6-2 victory over the Aguilas Cibaenas to win the title. After going up 4-games-to-2, Licey fell twice as the Aguilas forced a decisive 9th game.

Going to the hill in the winner-take-all game was Cesar Valdez (W, 4-0) for Licey. Valdez tossed 5.0 shutout innings giving up just 2 hits while striking out 5. He picked up the win and held the Aguilas off long enough for the Tigres bats to come alive. For his efforts, Valdez was named MVP.

Leading just 1-0 heading into the top of the 6th, the Tigres bats exploded for 5 runs. Lead off hitter Mel Rojas Jr. (0-for-4) walked to start the inning. After Diory Hernandez (0-for-5) flew out to center, Samuel Deduno was pulled in favor of fellow reliever Juan Grullon. Grullon was rudely greeted by Engel Beltre (2-for-4) who promptly doubled to right putting runners at 2nd and 3rd. Grullon then walked Rossmel Perez to load the bases. Then to put the Tigres up on top big, Emilio Bonifacio (2-for-4) doubled to left scoring all three runners on base. And that would do it on the day for Grullon after he failed to get an out and gave up 3 runs on 2 hits.

Licey would go on to add 2 more runs in the inning to go up 6-0 before the Aguilas would add 2 runs in the bottom of the inning.

Sergio Alcantara wound up setting the stage well going 4-for-5 in the lead off spot for Licey. He drove in 2 and scored 1.

Licey now heads to Culiacan, Mexico for the 2017 Caribbean Series where they will face off with Cuba in its first match on Wednesday February 1st.

Posted in Latin America, TournamentsComments (0)

Licey and Cibaenas Fight for LIDOM Title and Spot in Caribbean Series

The Liga de Beisbol Profesional de la Republica Dominicana or the Dominican Republic Professional Baseball League is wrapping up its season with the championship series. The Tigres del Licey are facing off with the Aguilas Cibaenas for the right to represent the Dominican in the Caribbean Series.

Game 1 saw the Aguilas defeat Licey 4-3. Zolio Almonte tied up the game in the 6th inning at 3 with a two-run home run off of Licey starter Yohan Flande (5.2 IP/3 ER/7 hits). Francisco Pena (1-for-3) would give the Aguilas the lead for good in the 7th inning with a RBI single to right scoring Jose Constanza (1-for-1).

However Licey bounced back after the Game 1 loss to score a victory in Game 2. Again the game was tied heading into the latter innings, this time it would be the Tigres that would come out on top.  With one out Aguilas first baseman Kennys Vargas committed an error allowing Mel Rojas Jr to reach base and Yamaico Navarro to score the go-ahead run. Diory Hernandez followed that up with a sac fly to put the lead at 4-2 where it would stay.

The two teams will look to represent the Dominican Republic in the Caribbean Series. The Aguilas have won the LIDOM Championship twenty times with the last coming in 2008. They also own five Caribbean Series titles. The Tigres del Licey are the most decorated team in LIDOM and Caribbean Series history. They own 21 LIDOM titles and a total of 10 Caribbean Series titles, the last coming in 2008 when two LIDOM teams played in the Series.

Posted in Latin America, TournamentsComments (0)


Check Out Our Etsy Shop

The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

Have a Baseball Story?

Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

  • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
  • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
  • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
  • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
  • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
  • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
  • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
  • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
  • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
  • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
  • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
  • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 88

Loading ... Loading ...