Categorized | Latin America, Tournaments

Aguilas de Mexicali Wins LMP Championship

Aguilas de Mexicali Wins LMP Championship

The Aguilas de Mexicali took home the Liga Mexicana del Pacifico (LMP) Championship Saturday night after a 13-1 drubbing of the Caneros de los Mochis. The win gave Mexicali the title and a spot in the Caribbean Series.

Mexicali pounded out 16 hits in the game. Five players had 2 or more hits including Yordanys Linares (3-for-3 with a home run), Yuniesky Betancourt (2-for-4, 6 RBI, and a grand slam), and Chris Roberson (3-for-5). The offensive attack was relentless as Mexicali scored in 6 straight innings.

While Mexicali was taking care of business at the plate, Hector Velazquez (W, 3-1) was taking care of things on the mound. Velazquez tossed 6.0 innings giving up just a single run. He struck out 4, walked 2, and scattered 4 hits. The Aguilas bullpen came in and shut down Los Mochis the rest of the way as Jose Meraz, Fautino De Los Santos, and Jake Sanchez each tossed a scoreless inning in relief.

Mexicali moves on to the 2017 Caribbean Series now to face Puerto Rico in their first game on Wednesday February 1.

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...