Categorized | Latin America, Tournaments

Mexicali Ties LMP Championship Series

Mexicali Ties LMP Championship Series

The Aguilas de Mexicali evened up the Liga Mexicana del Pacifico (LMP) Championship on Sunday with a 7-2 win over the Caneros de los Mochis. The win evened the series at one game apiece.

Hector Velazquez (W, 2-1) had a strong outing for Mexicali tossing 7.1 shutout innings. He gave up just 4hits, did not walk anyone, and struck out 10 en route to the win. Javier Solano (S, 1) picked up the save tossing the final 2 outs of the game.

On the offensive side of the ball, Mexicalli was led by Dodgers farmhand C.J. Retherford (2-for-4) who had the big blow with his 5th home run in the 3rd inning, a 2-run shot. Longtime Sultanes de Monterrey DH/OF Luis Juarez had a nice night as well going 2-for-4 with a pair of doubles.

The only runs of the night for Los Mochis came in the bottom of the 8th inning on a Isaac Rodriguez Salazar 2-run homer.

Going tonight in Game 3 of the series will be Roy Merritt for Los Mochis up against former Major League pitcher Kameron Loe for Mexicali. Loe last pitched in the big leagues in 2013 with Atlanta.

LMP Championship:
Mexicali 1, Los Mochis 3
Mexicali 7, Los Mochis 2
Game 3: 1/24
Game 4: 1/25
Game 5: 1/26
Game 6: 1/28
Game 7: 1/29

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...