Categorized | Latin America, Tournaments

Criollos de Caguas tie up the LBPRC Championship Series

Criollos de Caguas tie up the LBPRC Championship Series

The series it tied in the championship of the Liga de Beisbol Profesional Roberto Clemente or LBPRC. Last night the Criollos de Caguas downed the Cangrejeros de Santurce 12-1 to tie the series up at 3 games apiece.

Caguas pounded Santurce pitching for 17 hits en route to the blowout win. Seven hitters had two hits or more for the Criollos including Ruben Gotay (2-for-4), Rusney Castillo (2-for-5), David Vidal (3-for-4), Henry Ramos (2-for-4), Jack Lopez (2-for-4), and Jonathan Morales (2-for-4). Castillo had the big blow with a 2-run home run in the 6-run 8th inning.

Caguas scored in bunches with 2 runs in the 2nd, 4 runs in the 5th, and then 6 runs in the 8th inning. Santurce got its lone run in the top of the 9th.

Andrew Barbosa (W, 1-0) pitched well over 5 innings to pick up the win. He allowed just two hits and one walk while striking out three. Darin Downs (L, 0-1) gave up only 2 runs over 4 innings but took the loss for Santurce.

The best-of-9 series is down to a best 2-of-3 now that the series is tied.

LBPRC Championship Scores:

Game 1: Caguas 1, Santurce 0
Game 2: Santurce 6, Caguas 3
Game 3: Caguas 4, Santurce 2
Game 4: Santurce 4, Caguas 1
Game 5: Caguas 1, Santurce 3
Game 6: Santurce 1, Caguas 12
Game 7: 1/22 4:15 PM AST
Game 8: 1/25 7:15 PM AST
Game 9: 1/26 7:15 PM AST

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...