You hear people say it almost daily in the game of baseball, but I’ve never seen this before. I’ve never even heard of it happening. But in a game between the Hiroshima Toyo Carp and the Yomiuri Giants the Carp won on a walk-off dropped infield fly rule.
That is former Major Leaguer Juan Francisco, who just recently came to Japan, at first base when the miscommunication occurs and the ball drops.
This is exactly why the infield fly rule is in place. Without it the Giants would have done simply as Francisco did and touch home and then throw to another bag for a double play. However, once the infield fly was in effect, although it doesn’t appear it was ever called, the force was no longer in effect.
It seems that the infield fly rule was only enacted on the play after the Hiroshima coaches argue the play. Then the umpires get the call correct. I don’t see the umpires in the field but the home plate umpire definitely has the call wrong as he rules the runner from third out at the plate. However, if you watch the end of the video when they show it again it appears the third base umpire, though late, does make the signal for the infield fly.
What a way to lose.
Hat Tip to Brian Moore for sharing the video.
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.