Categorized | Europe, News

Germany: A Look Back at the 2014 Bundesliga Season

Germany: A Look Back at the 2014 Bundesliga Season

The German Bundesliga has been dominated by the Regensburg Legionaere have dominated for the past six seasons winning five titles in that span including the past four. However, there will be a new defending champion for the 2015 season as the Solingen Alligators picked up their second title.

Solingen is no stranger to winning having been the champions of the North Division six times in the past eight years. However, other than 2006 they have fallen short in their quest for a championship. This year was different as once again the Alligators were North Division champions with a record of 21-3.

Solingen took care of the Haar Disciples in the quarterfinal round of the playoffs winning the series 3-1. The semifinal round found the Alligators facing off with the four-time defending champion Legionaere in a rematch of the 2013 Finals. Only this time it would be a different result as the Alligators defeated the defending champs 3-1 to win the series and advance once again to the finals. This time they would face off with the Heidenheim Heidekopfe who had the leagues best record at 25-3 winning the South Division.

The finals would be an exciting match up. The first two games were an indication of that as the teams split wins in very different fashion. Solingen took Game 1 with a 12th inning walk-off home run by Tanner Leighton to win 2-1. However Heidenheim would come right back to win 9-0 in Game 2 to even up the best-of-five series.

The series then moved to Heidenheim where once again the Alligators would not only win a series 3-1 but again they won back-to-back games with 2-1 scores. Harry Glynne was named the series MVP after giving up just two runs over sixteen innings of work. Sascha Lutz picked up the award for best hitter and Tyler Lockwood for best pitcher.

The Alligators will begin their 2015 defense on April 4th as the league is scheduled to kick off that weekend. The Dohren Wild Farmers will be replaced by the Hannover Regents for the upcoming season. The league will once again feature 15 total teams.

In other news around the league, a new executive board was elected. Mirko Heid (Bonn) will serve as the new president taking over for Michael Hartmann. New to the board are also Philipp Hoffschild (Regensburg), Lena Foerst (Hamburg), Christopher Goulet (Paderborn), and Stefan Hoffmann (Darmstadt). They will join the lone returning member in Juergen Elsishans (Mannheim). Completing the board is Gunnar Schaefer (Magdeburg) who represents the DBV Youth Organization.

Photo by Gregor Eisenhuth,

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...