Categorized | N. America, News, College

College: Twelve Players Featured on New Olerud Watch List

College: Twelve Players Featured on New Olerud Watch List

Big South Conference has two representatives up for award

Press Release College Baseball Hall of Fame

LUBBOCK, Texas — Players representing smaller conferences from across Division I baseball dominate the newest watch list for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award.

The award, named for the Washington State star who achieved success as both a first baseman and a right-handed pitcher, will be presented as part of the annual College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions on June 29 in Lubbock.

“It’s great to see athletes in smaller conferences be so successful,” said Chris Curbo, Olerud Award co-chair, “especially because these young men are making dual contributions to their teams.”

The Big South Conference has two representatives on the watch list: Campbell’s David Olsen and High Point’s Ryan Retz.

Olson, a senior infielder and right-handed pitcher, has a 3-0 record with three saves and a 1.71 ERA to go with his .357 batting average, eight doubles and two home runs. Retz, also a senior infielder and right-handed pitcher, has a 4-4 record with two saves in 60 2/3 innings pitched. He also has a .338 batting average with 16 doubles and four home runs.

Olerud’s alma mater also has a player on the watch list: outfielder and left-handed pitcher Jason Monda, who has a 2-0 record and 1.29 ERA in 28 innings pitched. He also has six home runs and 34 RBIs.

“Obviously the Cougars have a precedent of two-way players, so it’s nice to see someone from Washington State on the list,” said Sam Dowell, award co-chair. “It’s great to see schools from all across the country represented on this list too. There are players on the list from Maine to California.”

For more information on the Olerud Award or the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions,






Mike Connolly


America East

Jacob Mayers


Atlantic 10

Nick Howard


Big East

David Olson


Big South

Ryan Retz

High Point

Big South

Michael Lorenzen

Cal State Fullerton

Big West

Mike Ford


Ivy League

Jake Peter


Missouri Valley

Josh Davis


Ohio Valley

Jason Monda

Washington State


Dylan Christensen

CSU Bakersfield


Marco Gonzales


West Coast

About Press Release
This account is used to post press releases from baseball teams and leagues around the world. If you have a press release that you would like us to post, please use the contact page above or the email link for this user.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...