Categorized | N. America, News, College

College: First Pitcher of the Year Watch List Released

College: First Pitcher of the Year Watch List Released

Initial watch list of 2013 features 41 players from across the country

Press Release College Baseball Hall of Fame

LUBBOCK, Texas — After nearly two months of the 2013 season, a number of pitchers have already distinguished themselves with season numbers featuring miniscule earned run averages and stellar strikeout totals.

The initial watch list for the 2013 Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond Sports and presented during the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions on June 29, features 41 players from across the country.

The Southeastern Conference leads the list with nine representatives — three each from Vanderbilt and LSU.

“We all know the SEC is a dominant conference, but to have three pitchers from one school is even more impressive,” said Raymond Richardson, chair of the Pitcher of the Year Award committee. “We have a couple of schools that have two pitchers on the list, but three speaks to how competitive LSU’s and Vanderbilt’s pitching is.”

Smaller schools are well represented on the watch list as well. John Farrell of William & Mary leads the list in innings pitched at 63.2 in only eight games. He also has a 7-0 record. Austin Peay’s Tyler Rogers leads the list in saves with 12.

Rice’s Austin Kubitza and Savannah State’s Kyle McGowin both have 72 strikeouts on the season, narrowly surpassing Jonathan Gray of Oklahoma and 2012 Pitcher of the Year winner Mark Appel of Stanford, who both have 71.

“It’s nice to see some names from last year in the mix again, but it’s really great to see the variety of newcomers on the list this year,” Richardson said. “We can’t wait to see what these young men can do for the rest of the season.”

For more information on the Pitcher of the Year Award or the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions, visit


Pitcher of the Year Watch List:


Scott Sitz Florida State ACC
Buck Farmer Georgia Tech ACC
Kent Emanuel North Carolina ACC
Trent Thornton North Carolina ACC
Stephen Janas Kennesaw State Atlantic Sun
Jonathan Gray Oklahoma Big 12
Vince Wheeland Oklahoma State Big 12
Trey Masek Texas Tech Big 12
Jeff Thompson Louisville Big East
Adam Norton Notre Dame Big East
Scott Effross Indiana Big Ten
Tom Windle Minnesota Big Ten
Thomas Eshelman Cal State Fullerton Big West
Michael Lorenzen Cal State Fullerton Big West
Andrew Morales UC Irvine Big West
John Farrell William & Mary Colonial
Austin Kubitza Rice Conference USA
Zech Lemond Rice Conference USA
Ben Lively Central Florida Conference USA
Scott Baker Ball State MAC
Jordan Foley Central Michigan MAC
Kyle McGowin Savannah State MEAC
Sean Manaea Indiana State Missouri Valley
Nick Petree Missouri State Missouri Valley
Tyler Rogers Austin Peay Ohio Valley
Josh Davis Belmont Ohio Valley
Ryan Kellogg Arizona State Pac-12
Jimmie Sherfy Oregon Pac-12
Matt Boyd Oregon State Pac-12
Andrew Moore Oregon State Pac-12
Mark Appel Stanford Pac-12
Chris Cotton LSU SEC
Ryan Eades LSU SEC
Aaron Nola LSU SEC
Ross Mitchell Mississippi State SEC
Bobby Wahl Ole Miss SEC
Tyler Webb South Carolina SEC
Tyler Beede Vanderbilt SEC
Brian Miller Vanderbilt SEC
Kevin Ziomek Vanderbilt SEC
Jeff McKenzie CSU Bakersfield WAC

About Press Release
This account is used to post press releases from baseball teams and leagues around the world. If you have a press release that you would like us to post, please use the contact page above or the email link for this user.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...