Categorized | Latin America, Tournaments

Caribbean Series: Doug Clark Ends Championship with Home Run in the 18th Inning

Caribbean Series: Doug Clark Ends Championship with Home Run in the 18th Inning

HERMOSILLO, Mexico – It took 18 innings and just about eight hours of play before the Yaquis de Obregon of Mexico could hold on to pick up the win over the Leones del Escogido of the Dominican Republic. The 4-3 victory in the first Championship Game gave Mexico the 2013 Caribbean Series title. It was their second title in three years, both by Obregon.

Mexico led 2-1 heading into the bottom of the ninth inning but couldn’t hang on. Ricardo Nanita (1-for-8) homered to tie the game and send it into extra innings.

From there it was a battle of bullpens for another nine innings. It looked again like Mexico might pull out the win in the 14th inning, but once again they couldn’t hold on. Karim Garcia (1-for-5) led off the inning with a home run to give Mexico a 3-2 lead. But with a one-run lead in the 14th Mexico’s pitching staff couldn’t find the strike zone. Edgar Gonzalez walked the first two batters. After a couple of ground outs, the face of the Caribbean Series came to the plate with a chance to tie or win it, Miguel Tejada (2-for-8). Tejada preceeded to single to right field driving in the tying run.

Mexico pitching walked 10 batters, but eight of those were in the last 6.1 innings including six in a 2.1 inning streak. Starter Rodrigo Lopez pitched brilliantly tossing 7.2 innings of one run ball (unearned). Marco Carrillo (W, 1-0) picked up the win pitching four innings of scoreless relief.

The Dominican Republic starter Angel Castro pitched just as well as Lopez. He tossed 7.2 innings giving up just two runs (1 earned) on two hits. He was on the hook for the loss until Nanita homered in the ninth inning. The pitching staff struck out 21 Mexico hitters and gave up only six hits over 18 innings. Edward Valdez (L, 0-1) took the loss giving up a run in the 18th inning.

That lone run in the 18th inning came off the bat of longtime journeyman Doug Clark (2-for-7). With one out, Clark sent the first pitch he saw just over the right field fence giving Mexico the lead and eventually the win.

Clark bounced around in the minor leagues from 1998 to 2007. He got a “cup of coffee” in the Major Leagues in 2005 and 2006 getting into the action in fourteen games for San Francisco and Oakland. After that he took off for the foreign leagues starting first in South Korea with the Hanwha Eagles and then onto the Nexen Heroes between 2008-2010. Ever since leaving Korea, Clark has been playing in the Mexican League for Quintana Roo.

The game tied the record for most innings (18) with a game that came in 2007. It also set the record for the longest game at seven hours and 28 minutes).

Doug Clark was named MVP of the championship.

It was Mexico’s seventh Caribbean Series title tying them with Venezuela and Cuba. It was the second title won by the Yaquis de Obregon.

Photos courtesy Yaquis de Obregon

Clark HR

Doug Clark rounds the bases after his 18th inning home run

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...