Categorized | Latin America, Tournaments

Caribbean Series: Mexico Defeats Puerto Rico to Earn Trip to Championship Game

Caribbean Series: Mexico Defeats Puerto Rico to Earn Trip to Championship Game

HERMOSILLO, Mexico – Mexico got seven no-hit innings out of Luis Mendoza (W, 2-0) and pounded their way to victory over Puerto Rico to finish in second place in the round robin to earn a trip to the championship game against the Dominican Republic.

Mendoza went 7.1 innings giving up two hits, four walks, and struck out nine. He was great for the first seven innings before giving up a lead off double in the eighth to pick up the win. The bullpen came in and finished off the shutout.

Offensively Mexico scored their runs in bunches. In the second inning, Barbaro Canizares (1-for-4) hit a two-run home run as Mexico would put a three spot on the scoreboard to get everything started.

Mexico would pick up another five runs in the sixth inning. Marlon Byrd (2-for-4) picked up a pair of doubles and drove in three runs. Iker Franco (1-for-3) also drove in two runs for Mexico.

The loss ended Puerto Rico’s short winning streak as they pushed to get back into the hunt for the championship.

With the win, Mexico plays the Dominican Republic today for the championship.

2013 Caribbean Series Standings:

1. Dominican Republic 5-1

2. Mexico 3-3

3. Puerto Rico 2-4

4. Venezuela 2-4

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...