Categorized | News

IBAF Welcomes Curacao and Saipan as Members

IBAF Welcomes Curacao and Saipan as Members

The Executive Committee of the International Baseball Federation had its first meeting of 2013 in Cartagena in cooperation with the Colombian Baseball Federation. During the meeting the IBAF welcomed two new members in Curacao and Saipan.

Another key aspect to the meeting was to discuss the merger status with softball and review the constitution that will govern the new combined body, The World Baseball Softball Confederation.

A report on the merger and the combined bid for the 2020 Olympics was discussed.

Also on the agenda was the announcement of the host for the upcoming 18U Baseball World Cup. The event, to take place in late August and early September, will be held in Taichung (Taiwan). It was also announced that in the 14-team event that there will be no collisions at home plate.

In last years tournament, USA player Willie Abreu tried to run over Canadian catcher Christopher Saw. It was a big collision in which Abreu was thrown out of the game. Shaw did hold on to the ball for the out. You can see the play on the Baseball de World YouTube channel here. The play happens around the 2 minute mark.

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...