Categorized | Latin America

LBPRC: Criollos de Caguas Wins Puerto Rico Title with 13-3 Route of Mayaguez in Game 6

LBPRC: Criollos de Caguas Wins Puerto Rico Title with 13-3 Route of Mayaguez in Game 6

The Criollos de Caguas are the new champions of the  Liga de Béisbol Profesional de Puerto Rico with their 13-3 win over the Indios de Mayaguez on Friday night.

Caguas chased Mayaguez starter Aaron Miller (L, 2-2) after just a third of an inning. They jumped out with a 6 run top of the first to set the tone for the day. Mayaguez would never get close.

Seven of the nine batters for Caguas drove in a run and all but one collected a hit. Andy Gonzalez (3-for-5) and Jorge Padilla (3-for-6) collected the most hits. Padilla drove in a pair of runs as well. Luis Mateo had a good game as well going 2-for-4 with a double, driving in 2 runs, and stealing a base.

Kelvin Villa (W, 2-1) was the beneficiary of the run support. He pitched 5 innings allowing just 1 run on 6 hits.

The win gives Caguas a trip to the Caribbean Series that will start on February 1 in Mexico.

LBPRC Championship Schedule:

Game 1: Mayaguez 4, Caguas 5
Game 2: Caguas 3, Mayaguez 1
Game 3: Mayaguez 2, Caguas 1
Game 4: Caguas 5, Mayaguez 6
Game 5: Mayaguez 2, Caguas 4
Game 6: Caguas 13, Mayaguez 3
Caguas wins series 4-2

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...