Categorized | Latin America

LBPRC: Caguas Takes 3-2 Lead in Championship Series Over Mayaguez

LBPRC: Caguas Takes 3-2 Lead in Championship Series Over Mayaguez

The Criollos de Caguas took a 3 games to 2 lead in the Liga de Béisbol Profesional de Puerto Rico Championship over the Indios de Mayaguez with a 4-2 win.

The big blow for Caguas came in the 4th inning with the team down 1-0 when Johnny Monell (1-for-3) blasted a 2-run home run. The home run gave Caguas the lead which they would never surrender.

Caguas would pick up two more runs in the 5th inning on a 2-out, 2-run double by Carlos Rivera (2-for-3). That would be all that Caguas would need as they got a great start from Michael Nix (W, 2-1), who pitched with independent Sugar Land of the Atlantic League in 2012.

Nix went 6 innings allowing just 1 run on 3 hits while striking out 6 to pick up the win. Saul Rivera (S, 6) picked up the save with a perfect 9th inning. Matt DeSalvo, another Atlantic League pitcher in 2012, took the loss tossing 4.2 innings allowing 4 runs on 3 hits.

The win snaps a two game losing streak for Caguas in the championship series. Game 6 will take place on Friday January 25. Caguas is just one win away from a trip to the Caribbean Series.

LBPRC Championship Schedule:

Game 1: Mayaguez 4, Caguas 5
Game 2: Caguas 3, Mayaguez 1
Game 3: Mayaguez 2, Caguas 1
Game 4: Caguas 5, Mayaguez 6
Game 5: Mayaguez 2, Caguas 4
Game 6: 01/25 8:00 pm
*Game 7: 01/26 7:15 pm
*if necessary

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...