Categorized | Latin America

LNBP: Chinandega Wins Game 1 of Nicaragua Finals 10-1

LNBP: Chinandega Wins Game 1 of Nicaragua Finals 10-1

The finals of the Nicaraguan Professional Baseball League (La Liga Nicaragüense de Beisbol Profesional or LNBP) started on Tuesday with the Tigres del Chinandega facing off with the Orientales de Granada.

Chinandega is looking for its 2nd title since the reformation of the league in 2004. They won the title in the 2005-2006 season. Granada has not won a title since the reformation of the league.

Game 1 featured a strong offensive attack from the Tigres as they pounded out 17 hits en route to a 10-1 victory..

Yurendel de Caster had a big day at the plate going 4-for-5 with 3 runs scored. His 4 hits tied the record for most hits in a finals game with Eduardo Romero who did it in 2005 with Leon.

Jen Argeñal went deep for the Tigres driving in a pair of runs.

Douglas Argüello picked up the win tossing 7.2 innings allowing just 1 run on 8 hits and striking out 8 along the way.

Esteban Ramirez (3-for-5) doubled and scored twice to help the Tigres offensively.

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...