Categorized | Tournaments, News

USA Baseball Announces Provisional WBC Roster

USA Baseball Announces Provisional WBC Roster

Team USA announced its star studded provisional roster for the 2013 World Baseball Classic on Thursday. The 28-man team includes 13 position players and 15 pitchers (1 still to be announced) with only four players returning from the 2009 squad.

Returning are Mets third baseman David Wright, outfielders Ryan Braun and Shane Victorino, and short stop Jimmy Rollins. They helped the USA to a 4th place finish losing to eventual champion Japan in the semifinals.

The starting pitching is lead by 2012 NL Cy Young winner R.A. Dickey followed by the Giants Ryan Vogelsong, the Ranger Derek Holland, and the Braves Kris Medlen. The bullpen is anchored by the Braves Craig Kimbrel and will feature 10 relievers. The final pitching spot is thought to be held for Justin Verlander depending on how he feels after he starts throwing.

The bullpen is full of strong relievers including Chris Perez and Vinnie Pestano of the Indians, Steve Cishek (Marlins), Heath Bell (D-backs), Glen Perkins (Twins), Luke Gregerson (Padres), Jeremy Affeldt (Giants), Mitchell Boggs (Cardinals), and Tim Collins (Royals).

The starting eight is shaping up to be Braun, Adam Jones (Orioles), and Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins) in the outfield. Around the horn will be Mark Teixeira (Yankees) at first, Brandon Phillips (Reds) at second, Rollins at short, and Wright at third with Joe Mauer (Twins) behind the plate.

The bench shapes up with Willie Bloomquist (D-backs), Victorino, Ben Zobrist (Rays), with backup catchers Jonathan Lucroy (Brewers) and J.P. Arencibia (Blue Jays).

The American team has never reached the finals in the two previous WBCs. Joe Torre and his staff have their work cut out for them this year. Each team has until February 20th to finalize their rosters.


Player Pos. Team
Mark Teixeira 1B Yankees
Brandon Phillips 2B Reds
Jimmy Rollins SS Phillies
David Wright 3B Mets
Joe Mauer C Twins
Ryan Braun LF Brewers
Adam Jones CF Orioles
Giancarlo Stanton RF Marlins
Ben Zobrist INF Rays
Willie Bloomquist INF D-backs
Shane Victorino OF Red Sox
Jonathan Lucroy C Brewers
J.P. Arencibia C Blue Jays
R.A. Dickey SP Blue Jays
Ryan Vogelsong SP Giants
Derek Holland SP Rangers
Kris Medlen SP Braves
Craig Kimbrel RP Braves
Heath Bell RP D-backs
Chris Perez RP Indians
Vinnie Pestano RP Indians
Luke Gregerson RP Padres
Glen Perkins RP Twins
Steve Cishek RP Marlins
Jeremy Affeldt RP Giants
Tim Collins RP Royals
Mitchell Boggs RP Cardinals

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...