Categorized | Europe, Tournaments

2012 European Champions Cup Final Four Canceled

2012 European Champions Cup Final Four Canceled

On Saturday the Technical Commission of the Confederation of European Baseball (CEB) announced it had canceled the 2012 European Champions Cup Final Four. A common date couldn’t be found between the CEB and the four teams that were to be played including Danesi Nettuno (ITA), Unipol Bologna (ITA), L&D Amsterdam (NED), and the Rouen Huskies (FRA).

National team and club level commitments made it too difficult to come to an agreed upon date. The Commission will advice the CEB Executive to award the two winners of the European Cups as European Club Champions for 2012.

However, this is not over yet.

The teams that qualified are moving for the CEB to reconsider. The Rouen Huskies sent out a press release asking just that. The French Federation president is working with the other federations to make a proposal about dates and locations.

It would be a shame if the Final Four couldn’t be played this year, especially since the CEB didn’t set firm dates before the season began.

Follow Baseball de World on Twitter or Facebook and don’t forget to join our Newsletter.

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...