Categorized | Europe, News

Great Britain Wins 2011 ECQ-Israel

Great Britain Wins 2011 ECQ-Israel

July 29

ISRAEL – Michael Johnson connected for a late two-run blast and Great Britain turned back Israel 5-2 Friday to secure a spot at the 2012 European Championshup.

Johnson also tallied the final out of the game on the mound to notch the save. Alexander Smith (2-0) worked eight-plus innings of two-run ball to pick up his second win of the week-long qualifying tournament.

Most Valuable Player – Aeden McQueary-Ennis, Great Britain
Batted .462 (6-for-13) with a double, home run, four runs and seven RBIs.

Best Pitcher – Shiomo Lipetz, Israel
Gave up a run on three hits with nine strikeouts in a 11-1 win over Georgia.

Best Batter – Aaron Hornostaj, Great Britain
Hit .643 (9-for-14) with eight runs scored, three extra-base hits, and five RBIs.


1. Great Britain (4-1)
2. Israel (3-2)
3. Lithuania (1-2)
4. Georgia (0-3)

Photo: British Baseball Federation

Follow Baseball de World on Twitter or Facebook and don’t forget to join our Newsletter.

[ad name=”Google Adsense 3″]

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...