Categorized | Tournaments

2011 World Cup Groupings Announced

2011 World Cup Groupings Announced

PANAMA – The IBAF and the Local Organising Committee (LOC) of the 39th edition of the IBAF Baseball World Cup announced Friday the groupings for the first round of the international baseball tournament. The 16 team competition will be held from October 2-15 in Panama (Panama city, Aguadulce City, Chitre City and Santiago City).

The reigning World Cup champion United States are paired in Group 1 with two-time World Baseball Classic titleholder Japan, Chinese Taipei (Taiwan), Canada, Greece, Puerto Rico, Panama and the Netherlands.

International baseball powerhouse Cuba is joined in Group 2 with reigning Olympic gold medalist Korea, Australia, Venezuela, Italy, Dominican Republic, Nicaragua and Germany.

The official ball of the tournament will be provided by the Mizuno company.

Source: International Baseball Federation (IBAF)

Follow Baseball de World on Twitter or Facebook and don’t forget to join our Newsletter.

[ad name=”Google Adsense 2″]

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...