Categorized | Minors

Pacific Coast League: Tacoma Rainiers Win Title

Former first round-picks help Rainiers to title.

Dustin Ackley drew a walk in the 11th inning of Game 3 of the PCL Finals to start a 4-run rally leading Tacoma past Memphis 10-6. Tied 6-6, Ackley drew a walk and was followed by Greg Halman and Matt Mangini singles to break the tie. The bases were then loaded when David Winfree was hit by a pitch. Then Mike Carp extended the lead to 2 with an RBI single. Justin Smoak, a former first-round pick by Texas, capped the scoring with a 2-run single to end the scoring.

This is the first title since 2001 for Tacoma when they were crowned co-champions with New Orleans Zephyrs after the 9/11 attacks.

The entire championship was played in Memphis as Tacoma’s Cheney Stadium was undergoing renovations. This was only one of several things the Rainiers had to overcome during the course of the season. Tacoma finished 13-15 down the stretch, but they turned it around during the playoffs under interim manager, hitting coach Jose Castro. Castro took over after skipper Daren Brown was promoted to interim manager of the parent club Seattle Mariners.

Tacoma will now play in the Triple-A National Baseball Championship against the International League winner Columbus Clippers. The game will take place September 21 in Oklahoma City.

Follow Baseball de World on Twitter or Facebook and don’t forget to join our RSS feed.

[ad#Google Adsense 1]

About Eric Bynum
Eric Bynum is Managing Editor here at BaseballdeWorld. He spent three years as an ESL teacher in South Korea, and is now working on his master's degree in history with a focus on baseball and WWII. He has played and/or written about baseball for the past 30 years and is an avid Atlanta Braves fan.

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...