Categorized | College

2010 NCBWA All-American Baseball Team

UNITED STATES – Several candidates for the prestigious Dick Howser Trophy highlight the 15th Annual Pro-Line Athletic National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association All-America Team announced Wednesday.

Among the 58 standouts on the three units, there are student-athletes from 20 different conferences and 11 conference championships teams. The three All-America squads are also made up of 14 conference Players of the Year and 11 conference Pitchers of the Year winners.

Members of this year’s team lead the nation in 12 different categories, including runs (Nate Roberts, High Point, 88), doubles per game (Ryan Soares, George Mason, 0.60), triples per game (Zack MacPhee, Arizona State, 0.25), home runs (Jordan Ribera, Fresno State, 27), RBIs per game (C.J. Cron, Utah, 1.65), walks (Michael Choice, UT Arlington, 76), slugging percentage (Paul Hoilman, ETSU, .860), on-base percentage (Roberts, .573), earned run average (John Stilson, Texas A&M, 0.80), wins (Matt Purke, TCU, 14), saves (Kevin Arrico, Virginia, 18) and strikeouts per nine innings (Chase Ruffin, Texas, 13.49).

The three finalists for the 24th Annual Dick Howser Trophy, as voted upon by NCBWA members and awarded since 1987, will be announced on Saturday, June 19, in Omaha at 10 a.m. (CDT) at the Rosenblatt Stadium Media Room. The Dick Howser Trophy recipient will be named during the College Baseball Awards Show on July 2 at the United Spirit Center in Lubbock, Texas, on

2010 NCBWA Division I All-America Team:

C – Yasmani Grandal, Miami Hurricanes (.401)
1B- Hunter Morris, Auburn Tigers (.386)
2B- Zack MacPhee, Arizona State Sun Devils (.394)
SS- Jedd Gyorko, West Virginia Mountaineers (.381)
3B- Anthony Rendon, Rice Owls (.394)
OF- Alex Dickerson, Indiana Hoosiers (.419)
OF- Chris Duffy, Central Florida (.447)
OF- Gary Brown, Cal State Fullerton (.438)
DH- C.J. Cron, Utah Utes (.431)
UT- Mike McGee, Florida State Seminoles (.328/12 Saves)
SP- Chris Sale, Florida Gulf Coast (11-0)
SP- Anthony Meo, Coastal Carolina (13-2)
SP- Drew Pomeranz, Ole Miss (9-2)
SP- Danny Hultzen, Virginia Cavaliers (11-1)
SP- Cole Green, Texas Longhorns (11-2) – pictured
RP- Chance Ruffin, Texas Longhorns (6-1/14 Saves)
RP- Neil Holland, Louisville Cardinals (8-1/17 Saves)
RP- Kevin Arrico, Virginia Cavaliers (1-1/18 Saves)

Photo courtesy of Texas Media Relations

About admin

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...