Categorized | College

2010 Big Ten Baseball Awards

UNITED STATES – On the evening before the start of the 2010 Big Ten Baseball Tournament, the Big Ten Conference announced the season’s All-Big Ten teams and individual honors, recognizing Indiana’s Alex Dickerson as the Player of the Year, Ohio State’s Alex Wimmers as Pitcher of the Year, Michigan State’s Ryan Jones as Freshman of the Year and Minnesota’s John Anderson as Coach of the Year.

The Big Ten’s Freshman of the Year a season ago, Dickerson becomes the third Hoosier to be named Big Ten Player of the Year and the first since 2002. The sophomore is just the sixth player to earn Freshman and Player of the Year honors in the same career and the first to do it in successive seasons.

The 2009 Big Ten Co-Pitcher of the Year, Wimmers (pictured) becomes the first pitcher in Big Ten history to earn the honor in back-to-back seasons. The junior led the Big Ten with a 1.60 ERA, .218 opponents’ batting average and tied for the lead in wins.

Jones is the second Spartan in history and first since 2005 to be named Freshman of the Year. The second baseman finished sixth in the Big Ten with a .380 average in all games.

Selected by his peers as Big Ten Coach of the Year, John Anderson led Minnesota to its 22nd overall Big Ten title and first since 2004. The honor is the fifth of Anderson’s career, as he also received top accolades in 2000 and in three straight years from 20002 to 2004.

Dickerson, Wimmers and Purdue starter Matt Bischoff were unanimous selections to the All-Big Ten first team, joined on the first team by Indiana’s Josh Lyon, Michigan’s Ryan LaMarre, Michigan State’s Jonathan Roof, Minnesota’s Nick O’Shea, Northwestern’s Eric Jokisch, Chris Lashmet, Zach Morton and Paul Snieder, Ohio State’s Zach Hurley and Penn State’s Ben Heath.

The complete All-Big Ten teams, All-Freshman team and individual award winners can be found below.

1B – Nick O’Shea, Minnesota
2B – Zach Morton, Northwestern
SS – Jonathan Roof, Michigan State
3B – Chris Lashmet, Northwestern
OF – Alex Dickerson, Indiana State*
OF – Ryan LaMarre, Michigan
OF – Zach Hurley, Ohio State
C – Ben Heath, Penn State
DH – Josh Lyon, Indiana
SP – Eric Jokisch, Northwestern
SP – Alex Wimmers, Ohio State*
SP – Matt Bischoff, Purdue*
RP – Paul Snieder, Northwestern

Alex Dickerson, Indiana*

Alex Wimmers, Ohio State

Ryan Jones, Michigan State

John Anderson, Minnesota

* – Unanimous Selection

Photo courtesy of Ohio State Athletics

Source: Big Ten Conference

About admin

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    One Response to “2010 Big Ten Baseball Awards”

    1. john perry says:

      any team that passes zach hurley up will make a huge mistake.. hes by far the hardest working kid i have ever met… he deserves to get drafted and get drafted high


    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...