Categorized | Asia

Uni-President Lions Win Taiwan Series

TAIWAN – The Uni-President 7-ELEVEN Lions captured their third consecutive Chinese Professional Baseball League (CPBL) championship with a 5-2 win Sunday against the Brother Elephants in Game 7 of the Taiwan Series.

The Taiwan Series this year attracted a total of 96,214 baseball fans, the second highest in Taiwan’s pro baseball history and just slightly shy of record crowds of 96,825 in 2008.

The Elephants affiliated with Brother Hotel – fought back from a three games to one hole with a 5-4 win in 10 innings in Game 5, and scraped out a 3-3 tie in an epic 17-inning affair on Saturday in Game 6, to force a seventh game.

The Lions, sponsored by the 7-Eleven convenience store chain, opened the scoring in the second and built a 3-0 lead off Brother staff ace Tsao Chin-hui.  But, the Elephants rallied against former St. Louis Cardinals right-hander Luther Hackman (pictured) to close the gap to 3-2 before the two-time defending CPBL champion added a pair of insurance runs to seal the title-clinching victory.

The Brother Hotel franchise lost to the Lions for the second year in a row in the Taiwan Series, but field general Chung Ju-shen said both he and the team have learned more with growing confidence.

The Elephants will start a new training session immediately on Nov. 1 to gear up for the 2010 season after only a one-week break.

Photo courtesy of

About admin

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    2 Responses to “Uni-President Lions Win Taiwan Series”


    1. […] here to see the original:  Uni-President Lions Win Taiwan Series By admin | category: chinese | tags: brother-hotel, chinese, desired-results, hotel, […]

    2. […] Uni-President Lions Win Taiwan Series By admin | category: chinese | tags: brother, captured-their, chinese, desired, […]

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...