Categorized | Asia

CPBL: Uni-President Lions Win Again

TAIWAN – The Uni-President Lions completed a three-game weekend against the Sinon Bulls with a 4-1 victory Sunday night at the Tainan Municipal Baseball Stadium.

The reigning Chinese Professional Baseball League champion, which dropped five consecutive games earlier this month, extended its current winning streak to five games.

The Lions took an early lead in the first on a solo drive by Pan Wu-hsiung off Sinon starter Yang Jien-fu. However, the Bulls pulled even on a trio of hits off Uni-President starter Pan Jung-rong.

Jose Castillo and Chen Lien-hong connected for back-to-back RBI doubles in the third to give the Lions a 3-1 advantage and provide more than enough run support for Pan Jung-rong.

The the third-year pitcher out of Taipei Physical Education College stymied the Bulls’ batting order for five strong innings before giving way to his bullpen, which delivered solid relief with one-hit ball over four scoreless frames to help him earn his fourth win of the year.


The La New Bears continued swinging the bats well with a 11-1 blowout victory against the Brother Elephants Sunday at Kaohsiung County Baseball Stadium. With the win, the Bears captured the weekend series two games to one.

The Bears, which rolled to a lopsided 12-4 win on Saturday, rocked Brother starter Liao Yu-cheng for seven scores in three innings to determine the outcome early.

Meanwhile, La New starter Tsai Ying-fong was mowing down the Elephants’ batting order. Tsai tossed a four-hitter over five scoreless innings to pick up the win.

A run-scoring single by Chen Guan-ren off reliever Tseng Jau-hao in the sixth foiled the shutout.

About admin

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...