Categorized | Asia

CPBL: Uni-President Beat La New Bears

TAIWAN – The Uni-President Lions snapped a five-game losing skid Wednesday night at Tainan with a 9-3 victory over the La New Bears in action from the Chinese Professional Baseball League (CPBL).

Liu Fu-hao broke a 1-1 deadlock in the fourth with a two-run drive off La New starter Hsu Wen-hsiung. Jose Castillo added another two-run shot an inning later to seal the win.

Chen Chin-fong connected for his 20th home run of the season for the Bears with a solo blast to open the fourth, and newcomer Jacob Cruz slugged a pair of solo homers off the Lions’ Kao Jien-san and Hsu Yu-wei.

Lin Cheng-fong, who replaced injured starter Lee Wei-hua in the second, limited the Bears to one run and two hits in three plus innings to pick up his second win of the year.

Hsu lasted just 4 2/3 innings to lose his fourth game in seven starts against Uni-President this season.


The Brother Elephants capitalized on three errors by the Sinon Bulls in the ninth to pull out an improbable 7-6 squeaker at the Taipei County Baseball Stadium in Sinjhuang on Tuesday.

In a matchup that featured four different lead changes, the Bulls built a 4-0 lead after two innings before the Elephants stampeded for five unanswered scores.

Sinon’s Chen Chih-wei knotted the game in the sixth with an RBI single, and Lin Yi-chuen’s solo shot off Elephants reliever Wang Jing-li in the ninth gave the Bulls a slim 6-5 lead.

But the Elephants profited from three Bulls’ defensive blunders that led to two unearned runs in the bottom of the ninth to claim their fourth consecutive win.

Photo courtesy of

About admin

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...