Categorized | Asia

CPBL: Uni-President Tame La New Bears

TAIWAN – The Uni-President Lions extended the reeling La New Bears losing streak to six games with a 6-4 victory at the Hsinchu Municipal Baseball Stadium on Friday night.

The Lions tagged La New’s American starter Aaron Rakers for a run in the opening frame to grab a quick 1-0 advantage. But the Bears tied the score in the third on Shih Chih-wei’s RBI single.

Uni-President wasted little time in pulling back ahead. Pan Wu-hsiung drilled a solo home run in the bottom of the third to make the score 2-1.

Cheng Nai-wen’s two-run shot an inning later highlighted a four-run fourth for the reigning league champion. The Lions carried a five-run cushion into the ninth before the Bears came clawing back.

Pan Chung-wei belted a solo homer and Tseng Hao-jui added a two-run bomb to cut the lead to 6-4. But, Lions closer Lin Yueh-ping sat down next three batters to seal the seventh win for starter Chu Wei-ming.

Rakers (9-3) failed for the second time to win his 10th game of the season, allowing five runs on eight hits in 4 1/3 innings.


Chou Si-chi broke a 1-1 deadlock in the sixth with a clutch RBI double and the Brother Elephants nipped the Sinon Bulls 2-1 at the Taipei County Baseball Stadium in Sinjhuang on Friday.

The league front-runner moved 2 1/2 games ahead of the second place Bulls with the series-opening win.

Bulls starter Pedro Liriano and the Elephants’ Mike Smith locked horns in a well-pitched matchup. The Elephants took a 1-0 lead in the fourth on Chen Guan-ren’s run-scoring double. But, Yeh Jung-chang’s RBI single plated Cheng Hong-da with the tying run the following inning.

Photo courtesy of

About admin

Be Sociable, Share!

    Related News

    Leave a Reply



    Check Out Our Etsy Shop

    The Best Baseball Sim Game on the Market

    OOTP18_Logo_220x220Buy OOTP Baseball 18 PC & Mac

    Have a Baseball Story?

    Whether its a press release, tips, information, or just a good story, feel free to Contact Us with any story baseball related.


    Who will win the 2017 World Baseball Classic?

    • Puerto Rico (31%, 27 Votes)
    • Dominican Republic (13%, 11 Votes)
    • USA (13%, 11 Votes)
    • Mexico (11%, 10 Votes)
    • Other (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Cuba (8%, 7 Votes)
    • Venezuela (6%, 5 Votes)
    • Netherlands (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Japan (5%, 4 Votes)
    • Chinese Taipei (1%, 1 Votes)
    • South Korea (1%, 1 Votes)
    • Canada (0%, 0 Votes)

    Total Voters: 88

    Loading ... Loading ...